Brickpicker logo


Ratings and Reviews for 75002-1: AT-RT

75002-1: AT-RT

Overall Score

7.63
View Price Guide Review this Set
  • First Impression Feelings after first look? 8.00
  • Unique Parts/Minifigures Unique parts? Increase resale? 7.00
  • Playability/Build Experience Is this a "FUN" set to build? 7.33
  • Value for money (NEW) "Bang for your buck"? 8.00
  • Theme Popularity Will theme help with resale? 9.00
  • Exclusivity Unique production aspects? 4.33
  • Packaging Does this set stand out? 7.67
  • Growth Potential Possibility of revenue growth? 7.67
  • Display Attributes Does this set stand out? 9.00
  • Conclusion Your final analysis.. 8.33

5 Brickpicker Member Reviews

Review from: Blackjack
Reviewed on: Apr 27, 2013
Avatar for: Blackjack
Join Date: 01/13/2013
# of Reviews: 117

Overall Personal Score

8.10

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

I received this set for my birthday, and am very pleased with it! The minifigures are good, the vehicle is fun, and the piece count is great. (Although the majority of the pieces are small)  It is a great set for younger kids and a fine display piece for collectors such as me.  This is the second AT-RT walker produced by Lego, and it looks very much like the original, but with twice as many pieces.  The packaging that this set comes in is really good, and the box is especially eye catching.  From an investment perspective, I believe that this set will do well, but not spectacularly because of the low initial cost, and the small amount of space needed to store it. 

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 8

The Droideka is large, but I would have preferred a more orthodox model with the dual blaster cannons mounted on the arms which are non-existent on this Droideka. The Commando Droid Captain has distinctive gray face printing, but is not a standout in this set.  Commando droids have been in two other sets to date: BARC Speeder with Sidecar, and Elite Clone Trooper and Commando Droid Battle Pack.  They are currently worth only about $1, and the Commando Droid Captain is only worth slightly more. 

The 501st Trooper is one of the greatest clones ever produced.  His helmet is a fresh design seen only on the newer version of Captain Rex, and also the 212th Clone Trooper.  It looks super good with the bright blue strip down the middle, but is a little oddly shaped when viewed from the side.  The face is the same clone trooper face we've been seeing since the debut of the Clone Wars in 2008.  His armor is super sweet, and has the classic 501st blue strip down the middle.  Like most of the newer minifigures, his legs are printed, in this case with knee pad detail, some of which is blue.  This same minifigure is also included in the Z-95 Headhunter, which was released at the same time.  Although the AT-RT and Z-95 have been available in stores for four months, and are non-exclusive sets, the 501st Trooper is still worth $7.00!  In my opinion, this is just incredible!  It is foreseeable that this minifigure will never drop below $5.00, and when the sets are retired, its value will only increase.  The main reason I expect people will want this minifigure, is to create their own Order 66 storming of the Jedi Temple MOC.  They would need a large amount, which is way sellers could charge a lot.

 Yoda is every young Star Wars fans favorite character, and Lego has now but him in an easily obtainable $20 set.  They were smart, however, and made a completely new figure for this set, which allows the old Clone Wars version to remain collectable, and therefore, not be depreciated because of market flooding from this cheap set.  The head mold is exactly the same as the old one, but is made with a different kind of plastic, and has white hair instead of gray.  The new plastic used for the head was a really smart move on Lego's part from a quality standpoint.  It is much more ridged than the old, soft rubber head, and is therefore much more resistant to scratching and paint wear, which were huge shortcomings in the old figure.  The torso is printed with Yoda's signature tan robe with the darker tunic underneath.  Unlike the old Yoda, the new ones back is printed with robe details, and a hood.  The new Yoda is only worth $5.00, and I expect that he will fall to four, but no lower.  This would be because of the star power of Yoda, and the fact that everyone wants him.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 9
The AT-RT is built larger than minifigure scale, but this is not a problem for me. It is very sturdy, but the legs are relatively unposable because of tiles obstructing the joint movement, rendering this set more of a display piece. The building technics used to build the ‘head’ are fun and effective, producing a movie accurate shape. The cannon can move side to side, but not up and down. The feet have wire cutting claws on them and the feet as a whole are really cool and detailed. I LOVE the color scheme, and it is much more Clone Wars than the previous version. The minifigures can be posed in a battle scene and are good for play, but I don't think that the Droideka has much of a chance, even with a sniper cannon!

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 10
This set comes with 222 pieces, and the price per piece of this set is $0.09. However, not all of the pieces are used in the construction of the AT-RT, as the Droidika requires many small pieces. The minifigures add additional value to the set if you planned to open it and part it out online. I would recommend buying this set at a discount of course, especially if it is for investment, but it is still a good deal for $20.

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 9
The Lego Star Wars theme is a huge hit, and attracts both kids and adults. Because this set is based on the Clone Wars TV Show, it is geared more towards younger children, and not so much towards adults. I believe, though, that the quality of this set is not affected by the Clone Wars sub-theme, and would be great for anyone's collection.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 4
This set is available at all of the major retailers and has no exclusivity.

PACKAGING | Score: 9
I really like the box design for this set. It depicts the surface of Umbara, which the AT-RT was heavily utilized on during the Clone Wars. The discrepancy is that Yoda was not a factor in the episodes. I doubt that many people know this or recognize the context of the box art, so it doesn't really matter.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 7
Because this set is Clone Wars, the investment potential may not be as good as that of original trilogy sets, but the great minifigs will hopefully carry this set to success in the secondary market. This vehicle would also be great for any Star Wars MOCs set in the Clone Wars era, so collectors and builders may want it for that reason. The AT-RT was featured numerous times during the Clone Wars TV show (after which this set is specifically modeled) and played a large role in the Pong Krell episodes in particular. The AT-RT walker saw limited screen time in the Revenge of the Sith, and was made as a Lego set before in 2005, with a price tag of $10, about half the pieces of this newer set, and one clone trooper minifigure with red markings. This set now commands a hefty $37.52 MISB. This new walker is much larger and has a vibrant, eye-catching blue and gray color scheme, which I think is cooler than the older version. Obviously, because the Lego investing field now has many more players than in 2005, it is highly improbable that this set will ever attain such lofty appreciation, but this is an iconic set in the Star Wars universe, and I really hope that this fact, coupled with the values of the individual minifigures, is reason to believe that this set will reward the Lego investor with a good return on his money, especially if he purchases at a discount.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 8
Because this set can only be posed one way, it is obviously a better set for display than for play. It looks much better on display than any of my other $20 Star Wars sets (except for my 2007 AT-ST) and this is partly because of the fantastic color scheme. The minifigures look great on display by themselves as well.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9
In my opinion, the only bad thing about this set is that it isn't an exclusive item. The vehicle is great, the Minifigures are outstanding for such a small set, and the display attributes are very good. With an eye towards investment, the previous AT-RT did extremely well, but that was eight years ago when the investing demographic was much smaller. While I do not expect this set to perform wonderfully, I do believe that in a few years, investors will get a return on their money, if only for the fact that this is a beautiful set which covers all of the requirements to be a successful play sets which adheres to Lego's core values of creativity and play experience.


Review from: comicblast
Reviewed on: Apr 27, 2013
Avatar for: comicblast
Join Date: 12/28/2012
# of Reviews: 64

Overall Personal Score

7.80

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

This is one of the newest Lego Star Wars sets out there, so my first impression is fairly fresh in my mind...

When I first saw this set, I first looked at the minifigures. We have an updated Droideka which I really like, a 501st Clone Trooper, Yoda, and a Commando Droid Captain. I probably spent the most time looking at the 501st Trooper because he is the first of his kind. He has printed legs, torso and helmet, all of it nicely coordinated.

The vehicle is prety cool too, though it didn't make me gape at first. The first thing I noticed was that the feet of the walker are extremely big. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but for the size of the walker, it is fairly large. This is definitely a hard set to forget, mainly because of the color coordination throughout it. Blue, and two different shades of gray look amazing together.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 9

The parts in this set are not extremely hard to find, though there were some pieces in the feet that I didn't remember seeing in any other set, but upon furthur examination on Brickset.com, it is found in 39 other sets. The rarest piece is called the 4626361: Plate 2x4x1 1/3 W. Side Bow, and is found in 3 other sets. 

I realy like the minifigures and the most unique is the Commando Droid Captain, who stands a little taller than regular battle droids, and has white markings on his helmet, where as regular Commando Droids do not.

For the sake of this section, I am going to call the Droideka a minifigure, though TLG doesn't consider it to be one. In comparison with the older versions, this one looks pretty good mainly due to the fact that this version does not have two guns. Instead, it has one main one located at the front and center of the minifigure.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 8

The building of this set was ok, though there was quite a bit of repetition because this is a symmetrical build. The legs take the logest in the construction, and they do have quite a bit going on them.

This set also has plenty of moving parts such as the main gun, the legs, as well as the main "shield" pieces to defend the driver of the walker. The shield pieces can move on hinges to customize to the size of the driver, which is fun. 

I can picture this set being pretty popular, because the build is very solid. There are just 1 or two pieces that can fall off, if you play with it too much incorrectly. 

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 8

This set has a very, very nice PPP or Price Per Piece which is always nice. In that sense, this set is a good deal, at only $0.09 per piece. Also, for the price target of $19.99, getting 3 minifigures is a very decent deal, as you probably can't get better than that unless you spend $50+ or buy a battle pack which often has a double of a minifigure. 

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 8

The Lego Star Wars theme is probably one of the most popular Lego themes, due to the fact that there is a monstrous adult fan-base which has money to spend on Legos. Also, there are TV shows that also advertise Lego Star Wars such as the new Yoda Chronicles TV series on Cartoon Network. 

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 5

This is not a very exclusive set, available at all retail stores, to my knowledge, if the store chooses to keep them in-store. I would say that this set will run for at least a year and a half in total, so since you can buy it for a long period of time, it isn't that exclusive. Hoever, the Yoda and Commando Droid Captain minifigures are exclusive to this set.

PACKAGING | Score: 6

The packaging is decent, not amazing. The box is surprisingly small for a piece count of 222.  I believe that the background is supposed to be of the planet of Umbara, but I am not 100% sure. The packaging does show a force-field around the Droideka which is a nice touch. On the back of the box, you see different positions that the set can assume. This set includes 3 bags: the minifigures and Droideka, and then 2 bags for the AT-RT. This is fairly typical for a set, but I think that the AT-RT bags could have been combined into one bag.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 8

I can picture this set being worth $40+ after it goes EOL. Very nice set, and the main draw is the 501st Trooper. Assuming that TLG doesn't release a set that comes with more than one 501st trooper, this is the best bet to make an 501st Army. Also, this set does include pieces that could be used to part out and sell in a bulk instead, which is very nice, since it offers a different way to sell this set later on.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 9

As a display this is a very good set for it. You have a fair amount of moving parts to customize how your display looks, and you have enough minifigures to make a pretty decent battle. Combining it with 1 or two other sets, makes it even better, though as a stand-alone, it is pretty good.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 9

As a whole, I gave this set a 9/10. One of the main reasons is because it includes Yoda, and this isn't because I really like him. The new TV series called the Yoda Chronicles just started and draws both SW and Lego fans to watch it. This set including Yoda makes it more recognizable as a set, sticking to the memory of people, and then increasing its popularity as an investment. 

As I said earlier in the review, I think that this set could be worth $45+ 1-2 years after EOL. About double of what you can buy it for at full price, which is pretty good, though there are also some other sets that do offer more potential.

Does this set offer you a "Bang for your Buck"? I would say yes. $0.13 is pretty on par for a SW set, but you get way less which is awesome. Unfortunately, looking at the current BrickPicker charts, this set is only worth around $5 below retail which is a sign that you should get it from eBay instead of at a B&M store, unless you can get it for $10 (which I did).


Review from: mikeur86
Reviewed on: Apr 26, 2013
Avatar for: mikeur86
Join Date: 04/21/2013
# of Reviews: 84

Overall Personal Score

7.00

DIRECT LINK TO REVIEW:
View Review

MEMBER OWNS SET: YES     MEMBER HAS BUILT SET: YES


FIRST IMPRESSION | Score: 8

This is a really neat set and right now with the price dropping this is a must! 

My first impressions of this set really through me baorigins one of my old Dtar Wars toys I had when I was a kid. I love the walking robots like AT-RT. The price was perfect for Three mini figures and a cool piece to add to your fleet of Star Wars Legos.

UNIQUE PARTS | Score: 4

This set comes witch three mini figures. Yoda, Droid Commando Captsin, 501st Clone Trooper and also a constructed droideka. The clone trooper is the unique figure in this set but it doesn't really yieldIan's secondary market profits. Trust me I have tried and people don't bid it up like other mini figures that I have sold.

PLAYABILITY/BUILD EXPERIENCE | Score: 5

Building this was fairly simple. One thing I will say about the AT RT is that it easily falls apart. My son has broken it so many times that I can put the whole thing together without even glancing at the instructions. That is a downside. I alsotele that there could have been a lot of potential with this, maybe even a bigger version but it needs to be constructed better. With all that said my son owns three of these sets and has quite the little army. It's really cool to see them all lined up together.

VALUE FOR MONEY | Score: 6

Right now the prices on these are dropping. They can be had for 17.99 retail and maybe we will see a further drop in price later. Withshe three mini figures it really gives you some bang for your buck! 

THEME POPULARITY | Score: 10

Star Warshis one of the most popular themes.

EXCLUSIVITY | Score: 4

Nothing exclusive about the set.

PACKAGING | Score: 8

The Lego group did a fine job with this packaging. I really like it ! Color scheme is very cool. The picture on the box really strikes the imagination.

GROWTH POTENTIAL | Score: 8

I think once this set drops in price again it's going to be a good buy! There is a lot of stuff in this little box that make it worth while. Buy a couple when it reaches 15.99 or below and you shouldn't have issues turning a profit in a couple years.

DISPLAY QUALITY | Score: 10

This set had a ton of display potential. Mini figures and the walker can all be displayed along with the droideka. Like I said before when they are all lined up together they look really neat.

CONCLUSION & FINAL ANALYSIS | Score: 7

Overall, find a sale and scoop a few of these up. I have a good feeling about them but don't pay 19.99. The worst that could happen is that you have some extra walkers and Yoda mini figures sitting around and let's get real here, is that really a bad thing? 


Review from: Darth Lego
Reviewed on: Mar 8, 2013
Avatar for: Darth Lego
Join Date: 01/24/2013
# of Reviews: 31

MEMBER RATINGS

WOW FACTOR: 7.00
UNIQUE PARTS: 9.00
BUILD EXPERIENCE: 8.00
VALUE FOR MONEY: 10.00
THEME POPULARITY: 9.00
EXCLUSIVITY: 5.00
PACKAGING: 7.00
GROWTH POTENTIAL: 8.00
DISPLAY QUALITY: 7.00
OVERALL RATING: 8.00
I am going to review the 75002 AT-RT. It comes with 222 pieces and retails for $19.99. That is a $0.09 price per brick ratio which is a good deal. It comes with 3 minifigures and a brick-built Sniper Droideka.

My favorite minifigure of this set is the 501st Clone Trooper. He is a cross between a Ep. 3 trooper and the Clone Wars Trooper. He is nicely detailed with blue printing on his legs, torso, and helmet. I've been waiting for this trooper for awhile and finally Lego makes it. He is very cool clone trooper. Yoda is the same as the other clone wars Yoda besides the updated printing on the back of his torso. The Commando Droid Captain is the same as a normal commando droid, but he has nice white printing on his head. The Sniper Droideka was better than I expected and was very well designed.

The walker itself is very large and is not to scale. (Too big.) I like the blue scheme that makes it a 501st walker. It was a very easy build that took me about 45 minutes to complete. The legs are movable to a certain point, but they are easy to pose. Nice playability as well.

Investors: This is going to be a hit once it goes EOL in about 2 years. 3 great minifigures and a Sniper Droideka is a great deal for a $20 set. I would wait until either you find a good deal or it gets closer to EOL to get this set.

Collectors: This is the set to get for your collection. Cheap way to get Yoda and a brilliantly done 501st trooper. The walker tops it off.

Builders: Nice selection of dark blue and grey pieces to add to your collection.

Overall, I gave this set a 8 out of 10. This is probably one of the best $20 Star Wars set that Lego has released over the last couple of years.


Review from: dunkers97
Reviewed on: Mar 7, 2013
Avatar for: dunkers97
Join Date: 01/16/2013
# of Reviews: 17

MEMBER RATINGS

WOW FACTOR: 6.00
UNIQUE PARTS: 8.00
BUILD EXPERIENCE: 7.00
VALUE FOR MONEY: 9.00
THEME POPULARITY: 10.00
EXCLUSIVITY: 1.00
PACKAGING: 7.00
GROWTH POTENTIAL: 2.00
DISPLAY QUALITY: 6.00
OVERALL RATING: 7.00
The 75002 AT-RT walker is a great little set! It comes with four good quality minifigures (if you include the brick built droideka sniper) and of course... the AT-RT walker itself. The walker I was a little disappointed with because the legs where not that flexible, I mean they can only move backward and then forward but only to the standing position, no further. This kind'f annoyed me at first but then when I got used to the fact and it didn't bother me that much but that doesn't mean it still doesn't annoy me. It's a bit over sized too its actually very over sized which is unusual for LEGO, most of the time there sets are under sized. Next lets look at the minifigs, First up is the droideka sniper, brick built but still looks cool. And now the commando droid commander which is just a regular commando droid but with special white markings on his/hers face. The 501st clone trooper is one of the mane reasons I got this set, I love these guys they're awesome everything about them (except there head which is just a regular clone trooper face) is custom!! And Yoda the fourth version of Yoda and one of the best! what I like so much about him is that he has a hard-rubber head instead of a rubber head where all the paint scratches off so easily and his torso is a little bit different.

Over all the minifigs cancel out the bad things about the walker, and yes I would recommend this set!